.

Still Waiting on the Water Tower

Three months later, the only change is the growing opposition toward county government.

How would you feel if there were plans to erect a 2 million gallon, 150-foot tall water tower across the street from your house?

How would you feel once you learned Baltimore County bought the property and paid for an engineering survey to the tune of $450,000 in taxpayers’ money without notifying the immediate community?

How would you feel if you learned about the project after a neighbor’s child saw the surveyor in the yard?

If you’re like me and the residents of the communities of Worthington, you wouldn’t like it one bit.

It seems a little fishy to me that the county council approved the purchase years ago of a 1.9-acre parcel on Timber Grove Road and Bond Avenue, without notifying the nearby residents.

It seems even fishier to me that our newly-elected councilwoman knew nothing about it. Neither her predecessor nor any other government staff members chose to enlighten her. She was as blindsided as we were.

That's not even to mention that the county executive did not inform his successor about the project. He also won’t personally respond to any inquiries.

And the questions have been numerous.

All of the other elected officials in our area--County Councilwoman Vicki Almond, Delegates Jon Cardin, Dan Morhaim and Dana Stein, and Sen. Bobby Zirkin--have all voiced their opinions against the tower publicly and on paper. They have all responded to us and even attended community meetings to support our opposition.

County Executive Kevin Kamenetz has not personally attended one meeting with the community regarding the tower.

We have banded together and formed the Communities of Worthington Against the Tower, established a website and created a petition to fight the project. We’re also fundraising and accepting donations to help fund our efforts.

We don’t dispute the possible need for a water tower. However, the county’s paperwork deems it for “future growth” based on the 2000 census.

We seem to be doing fine 11 years later, so is there really a need?

There are plenty of other parcels in the area that are commercially zoned that would not affect a residential community. In fact, the parcel on Timber Grove is not zoned for a tower, but the government can do what it wants on any parcel it owns, without needing the proper zoning.

There is widespread community opposition. Not only is there a Facebook group with 337 members, but we met many people at the Reisterstown Festival who support our efforts to stop the tower from being built in a residential zone.

To date, we have nearly 850 petition signatures and many people approached us at our booth with encouragement.

We are waiting, as we have all summer, for the Department of Public Works report outlining the top five sites for a water tower in our area. Upon learning about the project, Almond requested a review of the sites.

That was before the summer. We’re still waiting.

In the interim, we’ve hired an attorney--at our own expense--and intend to fight. Big bad government can’t just do whatever it wants without consulting the people.

And if it does, we can let it know with our votes. Or lack thereof.

Michael Rosner September 15, 2011 at 02:05 PM
Other topics drawing varied responses between the two included placement of cell towers in the county and a proposal, by Kamenetz, to create a water utility oversight commission to work with Baltimore City — which currently handles water delivery and infrastructure in the county. In regard to expanding cellular towers in the county, Holt said he’s against the idea. Building more cellular telephone towers “is basically ugly and undermines the property value and quality of life,” he said. But Kamenetz said the County Council has created a committee that reviews requests to expand towers. He acknowledged there are two sides to the issue, but noted that when electric power lines were erected, people were upset — but then he asked the audience to consider how electricity has changed their lives. http://foplodge4.org/general-news/county-executive-candidates-holt-kamenetz-spar-at-stevenson-university-forum/
Michael Rosner September 15, 2011 at 02:57 PM
"A lawsuit is set to be filed Monday alleging that the cancer afflicting students and teachers of a Bayville school is caused by the dozens of *cell phone antennas* attached to a nearby *water tower*. Three young students of Bayville Primary School have already died of leukemia and many more are sick." http://emfjournal.com/2010/01/17/cell-phone-antennas-blamed-for-kindergarten-cancer-cases/
Michael Rosner September 15, 2011 at 02:58 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-1027699/14-die-cancer-seven-years-living-phone-mast-highest-radiation-levels-UK.html
Bonnie Levitt September 15, 2011 at 04:33 PM
While the lawsuit filed by the Bayville group is a hot issue for Bayville it has NOTHING AT ALL TO DO with the current issue the COMMUNITIES OF WORTHINGTON AGAINST THE TOWER'. The cause which the above article refers to is having the proposed site of the water tower (Timber Grove Road and Bond Ave.) changed. Let's stick with our local issue so our community voice can be heard by our local government/Dept. of Public Works officials.
Brent Bolster September 15, 2011 at 05:13 PM
Mr Rosner... I understand your point but what is being discussed is a WATER Tower not a CELL tower.
Michael Rosner September 16, 2011 at 12:54 AM
Did you read the first post from "10:05am on Thursday, September 15, 2011" above? Why are you so upset when I mention this? Am I not entitled to my opinion being heard? I went around the Owings Mills and Reisterstown area and tested the water pressure from the outside faucets. There was not one of the water faucets that had less than 60 psi of pressure during different times of the day. Some had up to 100 psi. That is a lot of pressure. I tested with a water splitter and two water pressure readers connected in parallel, to verify the testing equipment system was accurate. It seems that the people who object the most are the people who do not want the water tower directly next to their house. what happens when it is placed next to someone else's house? @Brent, Cell phone transceivers are placed on water towers. Most of the Baltimore County water towers currently have cell phone transceivers on them, essentially making them cell phone towers that also hold water. Please read the first article again, and ask yourself "why would Kevin Kamenetz not come to discuss how he is trying to help us by giving us more water, unless, there is another reason for the tower being erected." You have to admit that after three months, you have not heard a word from Kamenetz, except when you ambushed him at the Timber Grove Bridge opening.
Michael Rosner September 16, 2011 at 01:01 AM
Why don't you have the community lawyer file a suit, and subpoena the CURRENT data that shows WHY we need the water tower? You might also want to take a look at the 4G coverage areas that show no coverage in the same exact area as the county has sated needs the water. Maybe I am wrong. Maybe there is a good reason for the tower. I just have not heard it within the last 3 months. Again, why are you so mad that I bring this issue up, without even sitting down with me to discuss it?
Michael Rosner September 16, 2011 at 01:45 AM
Please read the "Telecommunications Act of 1996". I think it states that once a water tower is built, the State of Maryland and/or Baltimore County does not have the legal right to tell the cell phone companies if they can place their cell phone transceivers on top of the tower. It is a federal law which overrules state and local laws and jurisdiction. http://transition.fcc.gov/Reports/tcom1996.txt ========================================================= No State or local government or instrumentality thereof may regulate the placement, construction, and modification of personal wireless service facilities on the basis of the environmental effects of radio frequency emissions to the extent that such facilities comply with the Commission's regulations concerning such emissions. =========================================================
Jay Hebert September 16, 2011 at 02:20 AM
The water tower will get built, and it will be somewhere in the area targeted. Regardless of where it goes, someone will not be happy. The proposed location impacts the least amount of people and the land is already purchased. To continue to fight will cost taxpayers additional money. To move the tower to another location will cost additional money. Do all the people who signed the petition to not put the tower at the proposed location realize it will just end up along Owings Mills Blvd, which will visually impact far more people?
Kathy Tomson September 16, 2011 at 04:07 AM
Jay- IMHO, I have to disagree. If taxpayer's money is a concern to the politicians we would not be in this mess right now (not talking about the water tower only, but the entire US economy). The politicians will spent taxpayer's money with or without a fight. The proposed location will impact more people than OM Blvd. The Blvd. is more industrialized. People driving by will see it, but it will not impact them. For ex: if it's built next to Best Buy. The proposed location will impact all the family surrounding it because they will see the water tower 24/7. If it's next to Best Buy, I'll see it few minutes a day. I'm totally against water tower or any non-housing being built right in the middle of an established residential housings. BTW, I won't be able to see the proposed water tower from my house, so it's not going to impact me, but I'm very concerned about the lack of transparency in Bmore County. What's the next surprise they will not tell us? Everyone, Let us have peace, we are all neighbors, love your neighbors and let's stop all this bickering. "Love and compassion are necessities, not luxuries. Without them, humanity cannot survive. "
ddbs00 September 16, 2011 at 04:59 PM
Jay, the irony was completely lost on all the people who signed the petition at the Reisterstown Fest that they may have unwittingly assisted the protesters in helping to get the tower moved to a place overlooking their own neighborhoods. My mother was sympathetic to the cause until the person she talked to at the protesters booth basically affirmed he didn't care where the tower went as long as it wasn't near his house. She declined to sign it.
Kathy Tomson September 16, 2011 at 07:04 PM
ddbs00, honestly, what you said is very hard to believe. If the protester wanted signatures, why would he tell your mother, "he didn't care where the tower went as long as it wasn't near his house." Please stop making up non-sense stories, I understand you support the water tower, but now to make up stories? Please keep your imaginative stories to yourself.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something